Zeiss Loxia 50mm f/2 Review on the Sony a7R III on the Ballard Jazz Walk in Seattle

Last night was the Ballard Jazz Walk in Seattle. It’s a fun date night with lots of great music. You can read more about it over here. The first group we saw at the Peddler Brewing Company. It was the Brent Jensen Quartet. Brent was my saxophone and jazz band instructor from 1990-1994. He was an amazing musician back then, now he’s unbelievable. Check him out over at Spotify.

One thing that I have to add to this review, is a plug for Mean Sandwich, which is right next door to the Peddler. It was easily the most unique and delicious sandwich that I’ve had in quite some time.

Well speaking of the lens (which is why you’re probably here) I brought along the Zeiss Loxia 50mm f/2 (this is actually the second time that I’ve owned this lens) – I’ve recently gone back to Sony/Zeiss and am quite pleased with the results. I’ll keep this review brief – it’s sharp, contrasty, easy to focus, compact, pleasing bokeh, and solid build. The only complaint I have with the Loxia lenses is that the lens hoods feel less sturdy than I would like.

Check out the images below.

2018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 17-54-432018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 17-56-422018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 17-57-372018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 17-59-002018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 18-05-052018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 18-48-072018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 18-53-59After listening to Brent’s set, we made our way  through the rest of the jazz walk and ended up at Bad Albert’s. There we heard LineUp! featuring Johnaye Kendrick. You can hear them below.

2018-05-19 Ballard Jazz Festival 21-29-12

I shot this video handheld in full frame 4K mode using the black and white profile. I shot it specifically as a test to see how the video quality and stabilization are handheld, but also to hear how the audio was with the Rode VideoMicro. I had to have the sound on the camera as low as it would go because the venue was so loud. I think it did pretty well!

All in all, the Zeiss Loxia 50mm f/2 lens is a great lens! If you want a manual focus lens for the Sony system – I highly recommend getting one!

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Audio Test of the Sennheiser MD 46 with the Tascam DR-10X vs Sony a7R III Internal Audio with 70-200mm f2.8 GM

In this video, I compare the sound of the Sennheiser MD46 with a Tascam DR-10X connected to the sound of the built in mic on a Sony a7R III.

Kubota Garden with the Panasonic S1R and 70-200mm f/4

It was a beautiful day here in the Pacific Northwest, and Kubota Garden is a wonderful and free Japanese style garden in a rural...

Skylum Aurora HDR 2019 Review

During my email conversations with Skylum staff over the past couple of months, I was offered the opportunity to review their newest HDR software....